Kirby 20th Anniversary Collection detailed for North America

Kirby 20th Anniversary Logo

Back in April, Nintendo announced that the their lovable pink puffball, Kirby, would be receiving his own game collection to commemorate the character’s 20th anniversary (Side note: Nintendo, just so you know, you never did acknowledge the Metroid series’ 25th anniversary last year. Just saying. But, I digress). Now, the full details of  this Wii-exclusive collection have been revealed. A total of six Kirby games will grace the anniversary package and is currently scheduled to ship this September in North America. Titled Kirby’s Dream Collection: Special Edition (Now, that’s a mouthful), the collection of games will span from Kirby’s debut on the Game Boy all the way to Crystal Shards on the Nintendo 64. In addition, a soundtrack CD and booklet will be included.

These are the following Kirby games that will be included:

  • Kirby’s Dream Land (Game Boy)
  • Kirby’s Adventure (NES)
  • Kirby’s Dream Land 2 (Game Boy)
  • Kirby Super Star (SNES)
  • Kirby’s Dream Land 3 (SNES)
  • Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards (N64)


Is it wrong that I’m excited to even consider buying this collection solely because of one of my favorite Game Boy titles, Kirby’s Dream Land 2?

Harrison Milfeld is a writer, editor, and freelance journalist from Missouri. Ever since he could walk, Harrison has been an avid fan of the world of Nintendo. For years, he has purchased every one of the company's subsequent products (yes, including the Virtual Boy and eReader). It wasn't until he was a young teen when he bought a PS2 that he began to embrace cross-console relations, a decision he doesn't regret. When he's not gaming, Harrison is looking to break into the magazine journalism industry and realize his dream of becoming a features reporter.


  1. You stupid, Neva shud yuh bough a jugo for dun one jugo!! it a packet of 6 jugos and you only boughin it fo da 2 jugo which is Kimbra’s Dream Land 2

  2. @Barbara Jordan…LOL WHAT?!?!?!?! I think you are trying to tell him that he shouldn’t buy the collection for only one game, at least that is how I translated I am a little rusty at speaking Tasmanian Devil. I Don’t see anything wrong with it though

  3. Last time I checked, Kirby’s Dream Land 2 was rare. But, I could be wrong. I figured the collection would span four titles and not six, which is a pleasant surprise. Dream Land 2 holds a special place in my heart as one my all-time favorite Game Boy games. For someone who didn’t play Kirby’s Adventure during my youth, the improvements made from Dream Land to Dream Land 2 astounded me. Despite how these feature were first seen in Kirby’s Adventure, it’s just nice to return to one of my personal favorite handheld games.

  4. Sold!

  5. this is definitely a better colleciton than the mario one we got. i own several on VC already but as long as it is 29.99 i will grab one or two

  6. Well is it for the Wii or 3DS!?

    I mean who wouldn’t want a portable Crystal Shards.

  7. @Zaytham Wii-exclusive.

Leave a Reply