Intelligent passion for all things NintendoNew to Infendo? Start here ↗
← Back to the journal
Infendo / An independent perspective

DS Lite Game Discrimination

Is the DS Lite a respecter of persons (games)? Check out this video that 4cr dug up comparing Mario’s game startup voice on the original DS and the DS Lite. Have any readers confirmed this? What possibilities does this mean, or is it just a programmer’s added Easter egg? [Thanks, Jaime]

Is the DS Lite a respecter of persons (games)? Check out this video that 4cr dug up comparing Mario’s game startup voice on the original DS and the DS Lite. Have any readers confirmed this? What possibilities does this mean, or is it just a programmer’s added Easter egg?

[Thanks, Jaime]

More to discover.Keep exploring ↗
The Infendo community

Join the conversation

7 comments

Share your perspective. Keep it thoughtful, welcoming and on topic.

  1. @macuser: The difference in the video was the voice sample that plays during the ESRB notice. Mario either exclaims "Yahoo!" in the DS or "Here we go!" in the DS Lite.

  2. the difference is clear, but it's simply down to whether you're playing the game for the first time or not. First time it says 'here we go', every time after it says 'yahoo'. Nothing to do with which system its in

  3. This is done by modding the game. The "here we go" sound is hidden and by modding the game you can hear it at the startup instead of the regular "yahoo" sound.

  4. The "modding" comment is simply not true. I have not modified my DS Lite or Mario Kart game in anyway and I get the differences noted in the video.

  5. He used the reset trick,L, R, and start.That resets my super mario 64, and other games. without turning it off.

This discussion is closed to new comments.

Infendo · Play. Listen. Discover.

Your next discovery awaits.

Stay in the loop
Privacy & browser progress

Reading, listening and game progress lasts for this page without preference permission; with permission, this browser remembers for one year. Rating badges follow your saved ratings, independently of that preference. Analytics permission separately controls analytics and CRM reporting. Resetting browser progress does not delete CRM records.

Want to keep your points? Sign in →
Sign in