NintendoFever archive · Preserved by Infendo
← All stories
News / An independent perspective

Avoid the Rush Consumers Can Now Pre-Load Super Smash Bros. for Wii U

It’s no secret that video game fans are beyond eager to get their hands on Super Smash Bros. for Wii U. To help shoppers avoid the day-one rush, Nintendo is offering a few ways for people to get their hands on the game as soon as possible after it launches in the Nintendo eShop on […]

It’s no secret that video game fans are beyond eager to get their hands on Super Smash Bros. for Wii U. To help shoppers avoid the day-one rush, Nintendo is offering a few ways for people to get their hands on the game as soon as possible after it launches in the Nintendo eShop on Wii U.

Starting now, Wii U owners can pre-purchase Super Smash Bros. for Wii U directly from the Nintendo eShop or by purchasing a download code for the game from participating retailers. At the time of pre-purchase, much of the game’s data will be pre-loaded to the purchaser’s Wii U system if it is in Standby mode. As soon as the game releases in the Nintendo eShop at midnight Eastern time on Nov. 21, the final data needed to unlock the full game will automatically download.

Super Smash Bros for Wii U has also been available for pre-order on Nintendo.com. Today Nintendo announces that these pre-orders will also support the same pre-load capability. Within 72 hours of the game’s release date, people who have pre-ordered the digital version of the game on Nintendo.com using their Nintendo Network ID will be emailed a redemption code. Once they redeem the code, they will also be able to pre-load the game.

These pre-purchase and pre-load options offer a tremendous benefit to players, who will be among the first people able to play the game once it arrives on their Wii U systems.

For more information about the Super Smash Bros. for Wii U game, visit http://www.smashbros.com/us.

More to discover.Keep exploring ↗
Infendo · Play. Listen. Discover.

Your next discovery awaits.

Stay in the loop
Privacy & browser progress

Reading, listening and game progress lasts for this page without preference permission; with permission, this browser remembers for one year. Rating badges follow your saved ratings, independently of that preference. Analytics permission separately controls analytics and CRM reporting. Resetting browser progress does not delete CRM records.

Want to keep your points? Sign in →
Sign in